Home
It’s one of those rare and glorious days in Dublin when “hot” describes the weather. The two young stars of Fright Night are flaked out on a sofa in a ground floor suite in Dublin’s plush Merrion Hotel. They’re sipping water and having a very animated discussion when I arrive for my slot.

Anton Yelchin:”Have you seen the posters from, you know Basquiat, the movie? You know those posters from the Eighties of Warhol and Basquiat? We should-”

Christopher Mintz-Plasse: “Recreate those? You and me? I am down for that, dude.”

Chris and Anton get on like a house on fire. They finish each others’ sentences, they crack nonsensical in-jokes and generally act like best buddies. Given the amount of time they must have spent together filming and selling Fright Night, it’s hardly a surprise. I ask them how they first got involved with the project.

CMP: “You were the first one to get the script, right Anton? I’m just gonna speak for him this entire interview – he’s like my girlfriend or something.”

AY: “Yeah, I’m basically the one who lives inside of your pocket.”

CMP: “Yeah, I got the script sent to me; Anton was attached, Colin Farrell was attached, Craig Gillespie the director was attached, Toni Collette, David Tennant, and I was like “all these people are incredible,” so I read the script. The role they wanted me to do — if done correctly — could be awesome in the movie and the script was great so I just wanted to be a part of it.”

AY: “When I read the script it was just Craig Gillespie who was attached, and I was a fan of his ever since Lars and the Real Girl. The script was great, it was very solid and just a very traditional monster film, and I just wanted to be a part of it.”

Fright Night features Dublin’s very own Colin Farrell as well as the tenth Doctor, David Tennant. The lads were very excited about working with the pair.

AY: “Colin’s just a fantastic actor and the nicest man. You’ve met him before right?”

CMP: “I met Colin five years ago, out here actually. We were there doing a press junket for Superbad and he was there just grabbing a drink with a friend and we met him. It was exciting for us, he just like, didn’t give a shit. He was super nice.”

The filming took place in New Mexico in summer and autumn last year.

AY: “We had a good time. We had a good time the whole time.”

CMP: “You almost shot Dave [Tennant] in the face.”

AY: “I uh… yeah. I was shooting blanks… he’s my girlfriend, we’re trying to get pregnant and I was shooting blanks…”

CMP: “You were on set for about 15 hours at that stage.”

AY: “Yeah, basically I had to shoot that way and for some reason I turned, and Dave, he’s right there and I just went “bang!”

Laughs all around.

AY: “And he said that he wasn’t even that scared until he saw my face – I guess I looked terrified. And then he realised how close it was to his head.”

CMP: “Close up, I mean…”

AY: “Blanks can burn your face off.”

Before my ten minutes are up, I beg Anton to say “Nuclear Vessels” in the Russian accent he used playing Chekov in the 2009 Star Trek movie. He refuses.

AY: “I can’t do it man.”

CMP: “Yes you can!”

AY: “No man, it takes work. It’s gotta get good. You’d be disappointed if I did it and it sucked.”

That’s a show of professionalism right there.

Fright Night is out now in cinemas nationwide, starring Colin Farrell, Anton Yelchin, Chris Mintz-Plasse and Toni Collette.

Leave a Reply

